Web UI upload version permissions
Sometimes you want to limit the artists from uploading versions and creating products in the web interface as it can cause issues with the pipeline.
Add a permission setting that restricts:
Product creation
Version creation
Log in to comment and vote
Comments6
Alain Xerri
On Discord I advised to rename "Upload version" to "Upload reviewable version", but allowing to disable it is even better.
That new method is intended to make publishing reviewable content (versions) easier for studios that don't have a pipeline.
But it leads to confusion in studios that do have a pipe, as artists don't see the difference between the 2 methods, which triggers this error when trying to publish stuff on which it's not obvious that it got a new version :
Mustafa Zaky Jafar
I agree, it can cause studios with pipe.
Personally, the confusion may take another directions where artists are trying to load this reviewable in their DCCs.
For studio with pipe, each publish reviewable is uploaded to server, which means there are two copies of the reviewable, one in pipeline storage and another in server storage.
using the upload feature makes a copy on the server but not on studio/pipeline storage.
Dieuwer Feldbrugge
Actually a cleaner summary from my pov, just renaming the current “upload version” function should just be renamed to “create product” and then another “upload version” function can be added that only has the ability to upload versions into existing products
Mustafa Zaky Jafar
It’s not about creating products as much it’s about uploading versions, it uploads a version and creates the product if it’s missing.
if it says “create product“, we will end up creating empty products.
Dieuwer Feldbrugge
The version upload does exactly that, it can create empty products if you dont upload something along. It is at its core a product creation feature first, version uploader second.
Dieuwer Feldbrugge
Possibly also consider removing the product-creation abilities of “upload version” and have a seperate “create product” button beside it. That way you can just allow/deny certain user groups to be able to create new empty products through the site, but still let people upload versions to existing products. There needs to be a distinction between website use and local use, because ofcourse users still need to be able to create products from their DCC, but maybe not every user should be able to do that from the website.